Videos From the Buddhism Conference

Here are some of the best videos from the Conference.  I’ve really enjoyed watching them and I hope you do too, there is much that can be learned from these excellent videos.

2010 ICTB Opening Session with Keynote Address by His Holiness the Dalai Lama from Carol Beck on Vimeo.



Translating the Dharma from Carol Beck on Vimeo.



Tibetan Buddhism and Social Engagement from Carol Beck on Vimeo.

Surviving Modernity in Traditionally Tibetan Buddhist Regions from Carol Beck on Vimeo.



Tibetan Buddhism’s Encounter with Modern Science from Carol Beck on Vimeo.



Tibetan Buddhism in Modern Western Culture from Carol Beck on Vimeo.

The Tenets of Tibetan Buddhism

photographer: linda rosendahl
photographer: linda rosendahl

Buddhism originated in India and made its way to Tibet in the 6th century where it became the official religion. It was eventually combined with the Bon religion which was Tibet’s original “official” religion to form what is now known as Tibetan Buddhism.

The Dalai Lama the spiritual leader of a sect of Tibetan Buddhism (there are four) lives in exile because of the Chinese occupation of this country, however he is recognized the world over as the true leader of the Tibetan people. He encourages the people of Tibet to hold true to the religious tenets of Buddhism even when faced with so much struggle and strife. Many people turn to Buddhism when they experience spiritual awakening symptoms, as a way to progress the feelings that they are having.

The Basics of Buddhism

In the Buddhist tradition there are several main principles that we believe, although there are four main schools of thought and all the schools do not share the same idea. The basic principles are the same in all four school of thoughts.

We all believe that Buddha was a man that left his luxurious home and discovered the four main principles of life. He spent years and years meditating and becoming something greater that what he was. He became enlightened which is our highest calling. The term “Buddha” means enlightened.

Not all Buddhists believe in reincarnation, some believe in rebirth. There is a difference between the two. While reincarnation is simply the soul moving from one host to the next and rebirth is the karmic energy passing from one life to the next whether that life form is a house fly, a human, a bird or other form of life. Rebirth is a much more complex concept than reincarnation.

Some Buddhists may believe in the power of the mind, not just for healing and calmness, but also for its psychic ability.

All four sects of practicing Buddhist from Tibet can agree that doing no harm to any form of life is the only way to reach Nirvana. We also agree that we are all potential Buddha’s. We all have the ability to reach Nirvana (the ultimate peace) with the right practices.

The Three Jewels

As Buddhist we trust our spiritual growth to three main entities. We accept that Buddha is the perfect teacher and follow his writings. The Dharma (Buddha’s holy teachings) are the path to enlightenment and the Lamas, ordained and the Tulkus can help us along on our path to awakening.

These three beliefs are called “the Three Jewels” in our religion.

Karma and the Four Noble Truths

It can be hard to understand Buddhism if you have never been exposed to the belief system. While most religions in the world focus on the worship of one God or deity we focus on the positive and negative energy or our own lives.

Buddha recognized that life is suffering with the greatest suffering being death. The goal is a happy life to achieve that happy life the mind and body have to work as one. In other words while in Christian, Muslim or Jewish religion the God punishes in Buddhism the negative actions like stealing and killing is not prompted by a God but by our own choices. Those choices can either lead to a good path or a bad path. In every action there is a reaction and we ourselves control those things.

Karma is the payback so to speak. If you do not correct your deeds in this life than you will likely pay for them in the next.  Sometimes those wishing to know more about their karmic path will try a past life regressions session, or have their numerology paths worked out for them. Not everyone agrees that these methods are effective, but if you do want to try it you may wish to check out these recommended psychic email readings.

What are the Four Noble Truths?

The four noble truths that Buddha discovered are:

  1. This is Suffering
  2. The Causes of Suffering
  3. Nirvana
  4. The 8 Noble Paths to Nirvana

Life is full of psychic suffering (although suffering is not really a true translation of the word Dukkha which is what the sacred text describes). Suffering is seen in our lives everyday, things like frustration, feelings of not being satisfied with our lives and stress.

Although this may sound very negative it is actually a positive to recognize the causes of suffering and the goal of reaching Nirvana by recognizing the causes of suffering and the human condition.

The 8 Noble Paths are a list of ways to find true happiness by practicing everyday these tenets:

  1. Correct Thoughts
  2. Correct Speech
  3. Correct Actions
  4. Correct Livelihood
  5. Correct Understanding
  6. Correct Effort
  7. Correct Mindfulness
  8. Correct Concentration


We are taught how to properly attempt the 8 Noble Paths. We believe that practicing these paths everyday will lead to a truly peaceful psychic and spiritual existence, Nirvana.


In Tibetan Buddhism meditation plays a big role in how we live our lives. The last three Noble paths focus on meditation and getting in the right mind set through meditation. We meditate on the 8 Freedoms and 10 Endowments often which describe god fortune like I am living as a human, I have the choice to choose, basically we focus on the good and righteous. We also spend a lot of time thinking about death which can take us at any moment.

There are many misconceptions about Tibetan Buddhism hopefully this writing has shed some light on the practices of Buddhism.